OSHA 10/30 in New York: Everything You Need to Know

OSHA 10/30 in New York: Everything You Need to Know

Jill James

Jill James

Chief Safety Officer

Jill James brings an unrivaled perspective on risk, regulation and liability. With 14 years of experience as a Senior OSHA Safety Investigator with the State of Minnesota, and nearly a decade in the private sector as a safety program manager, Jill is a passionate advocate for training ROI.

With the changing laws concerning OSHA 10/30, we want to help remove the confusion so you can start training as soon as possible.

First of all, in the city of New York, New York, all OSHA 10-Hour (General Industry | Construction) and OSHA 30-Hour (General Industry | Construction) Classes must be actively proctored. But what does that mean? Can I still take classes online? What are the cost? How soon can I take this training?

Be patient, we’re going to answer all of the questions.

Do you have a proctored option for your online OSHA 10/30 hour courses?

Yes, released July 10, 2018, Summit Training Source released its Voice Proctored online OSHA 10 & 30 hour for General Industry and Construction, English only. Make sure you verify with the regulatory body requiring proctored training that a Voice Proctored course will suffice.

What does Voice Proctored mean for an online course?

The student who takes the voice proctored OSHA 10 or 30 hour GI or Construction online course will be required to record a phrase after establishing a profile for the first time. After that, each time the student starts a new topic or leaves/returns to the course, they will be required to repeat that phrase. The system will verify that the voice matches and permit the student to continue.

Does the Voice Proctored OSHA 10 or 30 hour GI or Construction online course require any special equipment?

The student will be required to have a microphone on the computer used to take the course. This course will not work on a mobile device.

In an online Voice Proctored OSHA 10 or 30 hour GI or Construction course, can I re-record my voice phrase after registration?

No, once the voice pattern is recorded, you cannot re-register. Only the person taking the course should register the voice pattern.

Will the Voice Proctored online OSHA 10 or 30 hour GI or Construction courses work with my Pass-Through Registration custom set up?

Yes, those courses are available through that custom-registration method. But if you wish to add that to your existing pass through registration account you will need to pay a fee to add the Voice Proctored course libraries if you are over your 4 course libraries that come with standard set up. Contact your sales rep or account manager for more information.

How will the client know that the student completed a Voice Proctored OSHA 10 or 30 hour GI or Construction training course vs. a non-voice proctored training course?

The completion report would show the VP course assigned and completed. The title of the course completed will include “voice proctored.”

Do the Voice Proctored OSHA 10 or 30 hour GI or Construction courses include the same options for electives as the non-voice proctored versions?

Yes.

Can the Voice Proctored OSHA 10 or 30 hour GI or Construction courses be used on an account that also uses non-voice proctored OSHA 10 or 30 hour courses?

Yes.

If all my classes need to be proctored, can I still take this training online?

Yes, you can still take your training online, as long as you have a virtual proctor.

As stated by the city, “After October 16, 2017, only in-person training and actively proctored online training will be accepted.”

What if I’m not taking the training in New York, New York; do I still have to make sure it’s proctored?

If you’re taking the training outside of the city of New York City, New York, you do not need to have your class proctored.

Is OSHA 10 & 30 Hour training required by law?

OSHA Outreach training is not required per federal law, however some states have enacted laws mandating the training. Federal government construction sites require at least a 10 hour card.

Also, some employers, unions, organizations or other jurisdictions may also require this training.

States with OSHA 10 Hour Construction training requirements:

  • Connecticut*
  • New York*
  • Massachusetts
  • Missouri
  • Nevada*
  • New Hampshire
  • Rhode Island

* 5 year training renewal required.

What happens if you don’t get your training?

  • Civil penalties of up to $5,000 per untrained employee
  • Civil penalties of $2,500 if a permit holder doesn’t have a log of all the workers on a site that are trained

Important Dates to Remember

What training is accepted as the legal minimum; and when?

March 1, 2018

  • OSHA 10 or
  • OSHA 30 or
  • DOB approved 100-hour training program

December 1, 2018

  • OSHA 10, plus 20 training hours specified by DOB or
  • OSHA 30 or
  • DOB-approved 100-hour training program.

May 1, 2019

  • OSHA 10 and 30-45 additional training hours specified by DOB or
  • OSHA 30 and 10-25 additional training hours specified by DOB or
  • DOB-approved 100-hour training program.

Want to look at the law for yourself?